Morrissey confirms he’s finished his autobiography

The book will be out within a year, former Smiths man says.

Morrissey has confirmed that he has finished writing his autobiography, adding that he wants it published within the next year.
The singer was being interviewed for BBC Radio 4’s Front Row when he made announcement.
“How far [into writing the book] am I? Well, I’ve reached the re-drafting, trimming stage,” he said.

He added: “I’ve been through the whole life in many ways and I just wonder if 660 pages are too much for people to bear. And then I sit down and think, well, are six pages too much for people to bear? I really don’t know. I’m trimming.”

Morrissey went onto confirm that he does not have a deal with a publisher and will be offering the book to clients in due course. He said he wants it to come out on the Penguin Classics series, despite the book franchise normally only ever being bestowed on already-established literary classics rather than new titles.

“I can’t see why not,” Morrissey asked when quizzed on the matter.

Elsewhere in the interview he reiterated that he has no plans to reform The Smiths any time soon.

“It won’t happen. Nah. I don’t think so,” he said. “There’s no reunion point. There really is no point at all that I can think of, and that’s that.”

He also said he doesn’t want to retire from singing, declaring light-heartedly: “I’m just gonna carry on like the old blues singers and die onstage in Chicago probably.”

Source: NME

This entry was posted in Morrissey, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

